H. W. Wilson's collection of 120,000+ biographies from over 60 reference titles, thousands of biographical magazine articles, and over 32,000 printable . by name, profession, ethnic background, place of birth, and more.
This resource contains nearly 7000 biographies of notable figures from many cultures and time periods to the present day. Each entry contains a brief summary paragraph, longer essays about the individuals' life and work and a picture.
The Preble County District Library is no longer able to provide the the America's Genealogy Bank on-line resource, due to cuts in our budget, so its subscription has not been renewed.Ancestry Library Edition
With over 1.2 billion records in over 3,000 databases, Ancestry is the most comprehensive online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research available. Included in Ancestry are the digitized images of the U.S. Federal Census from 1790 forward, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, Passenger and Immigration Lists Index, and much more.
An on-going index of Preble County marriage records, obituaries and more.
HeritageQuest is an online resource for those doing family & genealogical research. The resource contains over 25,000 family and history books, the U.S. Federal Census, PERSI (a subject guide to genealogical and local history magazines), Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files and the U.S. Serial Set.
The African-American Experience in Ohio 1850-1920 is a digital collection, which illuminates specific moments in the history of Ohio's African-Americans and provides an overview of their experiences during the time period 1850 to 1920 in the words of the people that lived them. The story of the African-American Experience in Ohio is more diverse and complex than this collection can adequately portray. All we can hope is, to provide the researcher with a place to begin.
Ohio History is a scholarly journal on the history of Ohio, that has peer-reviewed articles and book reviews on topics spanning political, military, social, economic and cultural history of our region. This journal is an essential tool for researchers of Ohio and the Middle West. This site is a comprehensive online archive of the journal, including footnotes, and images published from 1887 to 2004. Ohio History was established in June 1887 as the Ohio Archaeological and Historical Quarterly.
Ohio Memory is an online scrapbook of Ohio History that contains over 26,000 primary sources from 330 archives, historical societies, libraries, and museums that document Ohio's past from prehistory through the present.
The history of the United States of America is covered from the colonial period to the present day in this collection of online reference books. Articles range from brief entries to survey length articles and are on a variety of subjects, such as the Barbary Wars, the Civil War, the Voting Rights Act of 1965, elections and the Greenville Treaty. Entries on noted Americans, organizations, political parties, government agencies, and holidays are also included.
The Digital Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps provides a searchable interface for locating historical Maps of Ohio towns and cities. These maps were digitized from microfilm copies by Chadwyck-Healey, a Bell & Howell Information and Learning company. The searchable database is a joint project of OPLIN and OhioLINK.
The history of the world is documented in this online database, from the ancient times to the present day. Examples of broad topics discussed include the Middle Ages and the history of the modern Middle East and North Africa. Biographies and articles of important people and events are included as well. The People's Chronology provides a timeline history to the world covering the most important dates and events in human history.